Cathead Distillery Supports Music Charity with Tintype Old Soul


October 31, 2022

Cathead Distillery Tintype Old Soul Bourbon

Mississippi-based Cathead Distillery will support the Music Maker Foundation and its mission to tend the roots of American Music with a 2022 limited release of Tintype Old Soul Bourbon, Series 1.

Aged for seven years and bottled at cask strength, Tintype Old Soul Bourbon is uncut and unfiltered—much like the blues artist it honors. The bottle’s label features a tintype photograph of blues vocalist legend Captain Luke Mayer and is a 2022 release of the first edition in the distillery’s Tintype series.

Developed by Cathead Co-Founders Richard Patrick and Austin Evans, Tintype Old Soul Bourbon is distilled in Indiana with a high-rye mash bill of 75% Corn, 21% Rye, and 4% Malted Barley and is aged on-site at the Jackson, Mississippi-based distillery. At 122.3 proof, this bottle is a testament to what Southern heat and humidity can do for whiskey maturation.

As with the previous year’s release, the bottle features tintype photography by Timothy Duffy, founder of the Music Maker Foundation (MMF) and longtime photographer for traditional artists in the South. MMF is a non-profit organization with a mission to help the true pioneers and unsung heroes of Southern music regain recognition and meet their day-to-day needs. They’re a long-time partner of Cathead’s and align with the distillery’s philanthropic efforts to support live music.

Captain Luke was a consummate entertainer who carried on a longtime friendship with Music Maker’s first partner artist and inspiration for its founding, Guitar Gabriel, whose country-blues playing was a perfect match for Captain Luke’s singing style. His voice was miraculous — a profoundly deep bass that never failed to amaze listeners. Duffy says Captain Luke had a “voice like honey dripping on hot chocolate.”

With only 1,200 cases produced, and sold at a suggested retail price of $100, this bottle is available for purchase at select retailers in Alabama, Arkansas, Florida, Georgia, Louisiana, Massachusetts, Michigan, Mississippi, North Carolina, Ohio, South Carolina, Tennessee, and Texas.

For more information, visit