Actors McCarthy, Falcone Invest in Big Nose Kate Whiskey


November 8, 2022

Big Nose Kate Whiskey Melissa McCarthy Ben Falcone

Big Nose Kate, the western whiskey from Melissa Heim, announced that actors, writers, producers and whiskey enthusiasts Melissa McCarthy and Ben Falcone have joined forces with the brand.

“What can we say, it was love at first sip,” said McCarthy and Falcone in a joint statement. “BNK drinks as bold and badass as Kate was herself.”

“Big Nose Kate breaks the mold in so many ways, and in turn, we earned the opportunity to collaborate with two very cool and visionary talents in Melissa and Ben,” added co-founder Mel Heim. “I could not have dreamt up a better partnership than this to propel our vision.”

In addition to the investment from McCarthy and Falcone, Big Nose Kate has secured funding from Springdale Ventures and Goat Rodeo Capital, two of the United States’ premier early-stage funds with deep spirits expertise.

Big Nose Kate is a first-of-its-kind blend of Straight Rye Whiskey and American Single Malt. In naming the whiskey after Maria Izabella Magdolna Horony, later known as Catherine Elder and “Big Nose Kate” — an icon, rule breaker, and enterpriser, but never fully appreciated as the huge force on the frontier that she was— Heim and her partners aim to celebrate all adventurers who are owed their due.

Big Nose Kate is distributed by Southern Glazer’s Wine & Spirits. It is produced in Santa Fe, New Mexico, one of several towns in the Old West where Kate ran enterprises and wreaked havoc. A key contributor to the whiskey production is Caley Shoemaker of Santa Fe’s Altar Spirits, herself an industry luminary, and like Heim, one of the first female Head Distillers in the United States. Also playing a key role in Big Nose Kate in various capacities are Kevin Burke, a highly experienced beverage industry leader; and Paul Earle, an entrepreneur and branding aficionado.

The brand is now available for purchase at select stores, bars and restaurants in New Mexico, Arizona, Oregon and Washington. More states will follow.

For More Information, visit